Let the Countdown to Thanksgiving Begin…

Standard

Today was my families first full day of vacation and it was bright, sunny, warm, and perfect! I must say that I miss you but vacation is really nice. Here is what our day looked like, we spent most of the day outside enjoying the beach and of course, there was shopping involved also.

By now all of you should have logged on to the blog and read the one I posted November 16, 2012. After reading that you know that I will be giving you an activity to complete every day this week. There will be different activities each day. Today you will be writing a journal; you haven’t done one of those for a long time. This writing assignment is a narrative and needs to be at least 10 sentences, use correct spelling and punctuation, and use figurative language. Figurative language consists of using many descriptive words so that your reader can form a mental picture of what you are describing. When you finish this narrative both any reader and I should be able to taste, smell, and see what you are describing, even hear it if that is a possibility. Below is the topic you will be writing about:

IF YOU COULD HAVE ANYTHING YOU WANT TO EAT FOR THANKSGIVING, WHAT WOULD YOU CHOOSE AND WHY?

Remember figurative language and the reader forming a mental picture. If you need a word you don’t know, google it and look it up. I can’t wait to read what all of you like to eat. I’ll probably get a lot of ideas for new recipes.

Also, don’t forget that the Acuity Custom Tests are due on Monday, November 26, because you will be taking Acuity Predictive B that week. You set goals for what you want to accomplish on this next test and I am positive you can reach these goals if you finish the Custom Tests, pay attention, read carefully, and THINK! I know that you are the best and now your scores can prove that to everyone.

Block 1 – Keep working on Achieve 3000. Even though I am in Florida I can check and see what you are doing. If I was the rest of you I would try to challenge Ke’von to see if you can beat his record. We also want to beat Mrs. Jones’s class (sorry Mrs. Jones) and if you do when I get back there could be a surprise of some kind. Tell Mrs. Jones I said “hello” and that I miss her.

As you call tell, I miss all of you. When we were having a snack in the Seaside Square today two young men sat at a table near us and I could hear them talking and it made me homesick for all of you. I wish I could talk to you, but the next best thing would be for you to make a comment on the blog and I can read it. You can always email me if you need to. I may not check it all of the time, but I will at least one time per day.

Keep counting down the days until Thanksgiving and be thinking about all of the things you are thankful so this year. Some of you might have to think very hard because the year hasn’t been the greatest, others don’t have to look far for their blessings. One thing I know for sure is that I am thankful for all of you.

Have a good day and you will hear from me tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

